A few concerns with my relatively new SIG P229...

This is a discussion on A few concerns with my relatively new SIG P229... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Alright, so after inspecting my P229, I've noticed a few issues. 1. This is my first time carrying it, and found that the grip screws ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: A few concerns with my relatively new SIG P229...

Alright, so after inspecting my P229, I've noticed a few issues.

1. This is my first time carrying it, and found that the grip screws on the side facing my body were rusted out. I was carrying it IWB and these are the stock screws. Is this normal? Is there anything I can do to prevent further rusting?

2. Some oil (a very small amount) seems to have made its way onto the breach face and possibly in the firing pin channel. It's not runny in any way and was only detected when after touching it my finger came back with a small amount of oil shining on it. Is this problematic? I've since decreased the amount of lube I'm applying, but I'm hoping that this isn't an issue. Also, the round I removed from the chamber also had some oil on it.

3. There are some significant wear marks showing themselves on the frame rails in between the takedown lever and the muzzle end of the frame. The area seems to be rubbed to the point that it's a silver-ish color and looks to be about half an inch long. This appears on both sides of the frame. I can't really feel the areaphysically, and if it can be felt, it's fairly hard to sense. I keep the frame rails lubed so I'm not sure that that is the problem. I've got about 700 rounds through it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I hope I'm just being paranoid, but I'm hoping you guys can give me some peace of mind.

Here are some pictures of the slide wear: