Glock Model 39 or Model 30SF??

This is a discussion on Glock Model 39 or Model 30SF?? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello to everyone, I'm new to Defensive Carry.com and would like some advice. Sorry if this particular topic has already been answered but here goes. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Glock Model 39 or Model 30SF??

Hello to everyone,

I'm new to Defensive Carry.com and would like some advice. Sorry if this particular topic has already been answered but here goes. I'm a recently retired police officer from the Detroit area. I just turned in my Model 22 back to the department and I'm now looking for a new gun for ccw as well as home defense. I am a big time .45 fan and would have carried one on duty if the department permitted it.

I have decided to stick with Glock since I have almost 25 years of training and muscle memory on the weapon in both the 9mm as well as the .40 caliber. I have narrowed it down to either the Model 39 or the Model 30SF. For those that have shot and carried both or either, please chime in. Is the 30SF too bulky to carry comfortably? I like the high capacity, but don't want to leave it at home because of its bulk.

The Model 39 seems like the right size, but I'm not sure about the 6 round mag.

Thanks in advance,

chesterhound

If anyone has side by side pics, can you please post?

I carry a 30sf much of the time and did a lot of research on it before I decided to go with it. I Carry it at the 5:00 position in a Crossbreed Super Tuck. Sure its heavier and thicker but for the same money I wanted more round capacity and the ability to use larger mags if I desired. I can say 70% or more of the people I ran into told me the G30 was too thick and too Heavy. I disagree, Its just right. Once I have the holster on and the weapon in place I wear it all day! Not only comfortable, but comforting as well.