Carry Combinations...

Carry Combinations...

This is a discussion on Carry Combinations... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello. When I was a uniformed police officer, I tried always to carry a BUG secreted away should my duty pistol be taken, run dry, ...

Thread: Carry Combinations...

1951 - 2011

Carry Combinations...

Hello. When I was a uniformed police officer, I tried always to carry a BUG secreted away should my duty pistol be taken, run dry, etc. For several years, the BUG was a Kahr K9, but I just never could "warm up" to it. I tried a Glock 26 as well, but the one that backed up my Hi Power more than any other was the simple S&W J-frame .38 Special. Partially supported by the top of my duty boots and carried in an ankle rig, it was easy enough to forget that it was even there. In colder months, it sometimes rode in my left-side uniform jacket pocket.

For several years, this was my usual handgun carry combination for work.

This Glock 26 rode many a mile with me, but it was just never comfortable enough. Intellectually, it makes more sense than the 5-shot .38 Special, but in the end simple preference won out over intellect. I think that at least some of the time this happens to more than a few of us.

These days I sometimes find myself carrying the Ruger SP101 loaded with .357 magnum Corbon 125-gr. DPX, backed up by a well-used S&W Model 642 loaded with Remington 158-gr. LSWCHP +P. The same speed loader works with either revolver, but necessitates being loaded with the .38 Special load.

How about you? For those who sometimes tote more than one, what combinations have you come to prefer?

Best.

VIP Member
    Excellent one-two combos sir.....I currently carry my agency-issued SIGARMS P229 in .40 S&W. Prior to that, my off-duty combo consisted of two Kahr 9mms: (L) P9 Covert and (R) PM9