Affordable Commander/4"ish 1911s?

This is a discussion on Affordable Commander/4"ish 1911s? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Im trying to track down an affordable 1911 around the 4" range. What are some of the cheaper options? The para only comes in blued ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Affordable Commander/4"ish 1911s?

Im trying to track down an affordable 1911 around the 4" range. What are some of the cheaper options? The para only comes in blued with an ugly wooden grip. Im trying to find something sub $700 but most seem to high. What are the 3 least expensive?

I was looking at the full size ruger but I just cant see myself buying a gun Ill barely be able to carry and I already have a glock 27, so the 3-3.5 is pointless

there are a few most of which I have no experience with. but here is a link that (unsorted just 45's in general) that shows multiple 45's that fit your criteria.
    www.galleryofguns.com - Gun Genie - Davidson's most popular and powerful search engine to find and buy guns at galleryofguns.com

Is the Para GI 4.25" version offered in a non-alloy frame? The only one I can find is the "lightweight" version.

Distinguished Member Array deadguy's Avatar
    I'm not sure about the cheaper commander length 1911s, but some to consider would be the Colt lightweight commander, the Colt Talo CCO, and the Kimber Pro Carry or Ultra Carry seems to be high on some peoples lists. I think Rock Island Armory and STI offer some less expensive models. Springfield Armory has a Champion model you could look at. The ones I consider reliable are a bit more than $700. These named are around 950$ minimum (except RIA, Kimber and STI).

You can also check around and find some really good used models.
    357and40 likes this.
    There's nothing like a funeral to make you feel alive