Kimber Custom II

This is a discussion on Kimber Custom II within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well I'm a procrastinator at times. I have been tooling around w/ the idea of getting a 1911 for many years. I mainly own and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Kimber Custom II

Kimber Custom II

Well I'm a procrastinator at times. I have been tooling around w/ the idea of getting a 1911 for many years. I mainly own and carry Glocks, still love them and will still carry them. But I have always found the 1911 to be a sharp looking weapon. It just looks bad a$$!

In the past I have balked at the purchase of the 1911 because of their high price, being finicky w/ HPs, and transitioning to using a thumb safety. I have made the argument that after so many years of shooting Glocks that if I carried a 1911 I may not engage the thumb safety when I need to. I know that if I dedicated myself to the transition, I could get used to the thumb safety. But my duty weapon is a Glock 23, so I'd prefer my off-duty weapon be a Glock.

So, here I am faced w/ the opportunity to get a Kimber Custom II for a good price. I know that it is the base model, no frills 1911. It weighs 38oz unloaded, so it will be a good bit heavier than what I am used to carrying. But I'm not buying it to replace my carry Glocks. I'm basically seizing the opportunity to make a purchase that I have wanted to make for so many years, but just never jumped on it.