How often should I lube my carry gun?

This is a discussion on How often should I lube my carry gun? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Alright, so I've been out of town for a long while (over a month) and have just recently gotten back. I currently have a SIG ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: How often should I lube my carry gun?

Alright, so I've been out of town for a long while (over a month) and have just recently gotten back. I currently have a SIG P229 that I use for carry and HD purposes, and haven't shot it for quite a while (about 2 months). I put on a layer of grease after my last time shooting it, loaded it up, and haven't really done much with it since.

I'm not sure, though, if I should lube it up again or if it's okay. I'm new to this whole gun thing and am still trying to learn what I still don't know.

Thanks for any help!

2. Remove Ads

I wouldn't go overboard with lube, it can be an attractant to dust and lint especially if you don't shoot a lot or the weapon stays in a holster.

A good, thin layer of lube should suffice, I do that with my S&W 39 and inspect it on a fairly regular basis to see if the lube has dried up. Remember, too much of a good thing is not good.
    "A Smith & Wesson always beats 4 aces!"

The Man Prayer. "Im a man, I can change, if I have to.....I guess!" ~ Red Green

After each use, anytime that it's exposed to dirt or sand, or twice a year if unused.
    "The superior man, when resting in safety, does not forget that danger may come." ~ Confucius

same for me,plus i use a can of compressed air to blow out the dust bunnies once a week.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gene83 View Post
    After each use, anytime that it's exposed to dirt or sand, or twice a year if unused.
    Firearm.Fan.Girl likes this.
    Retired (traveling and loving it!)
    Member NRA
    Served in U.S.A.F.(jet engine mechanic)
    Kel-Tec P3AT
    Don't Leave Home Without It!