1911 Questions

1911 Questions

This is a discussion on 1911 Questions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Let me start by saying that I'm a newbie around here, but not new to firearms .... I think this is a really great forum ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1911 Questions

1911 Questions

Let me start by saying that I'm a newbie around here, but not new to firearms .... I think this is a really great forum with some fine folks and I'm very happy to have found you all. I've owned many handguns in my life, but never a 1911. I've been thinking about adding one to my collection, but just haven't found the right one, so I'm open to suggestions. This would be a shooter and sometime carry weapon(winter months probably), but not a collector's piece. I would appreciate some opinions from those who are 1911 junkies. And yes ..... I know how opinions are ...

1) Which 1911 do you favor and why?
    2) What is your favorite concealment option?
    3) Problems or pitfalls with specific units?

I frequently carry a Kimber Custom TLE II. I bought this before Kimber lost its mind and switched to external extractors (I understand that they have now switched back).

I have over 13,000 rounds through it with only a handfull of malfunctions (all due to operator error ).

For concealment, I generally use a CTAC holster and it is so comfortable, I forget the gun is there . . . . your mileage may vary.

While the Kimber is the only 1911 I have owned, I have fired Wilson, and Springfield.

The big problem you will have is that for every thumbs up on ANY brand, model, etc., you will get an equal number of adamant thumbs down.

My REAL thrill related to the 1911 is that I have fairly small hands (that's right.....hands only. Don't go reading anything into this!!! ), and the 1911 fits them perfectly. I struggle a little on fatter profile guns.

Good luck in your search.

Commander length, all steel