whats the diff between the g29 and g29sf?

This is a discussion on whats the diff between the g29 and g29sf? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Is it just the grip size? I have a g27 and I have to be very careful NOT to let the slide tear off part ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By dogboy13
  • 1 Post By zonker1986

Thread: whats the diff between the g29 and g29sf?

Is it just the grip size? I have a g27 and I have to be very careful NOT to let the slide tear off part of the web between my thumb and forefinger.I have fairly small hands but they're pretty thick. THe 10mm really interests me. I'd dump my .40 for the 10(29sf) if it "fit" my hand better. I'm fairly new to everyday ccw, and am getting pretty used to my 4" Kimber .45 CDP IWB in a Occidental Leather Stronghold Phoenix holster. I live in southeast corner of Wa and the closest place to try one out would be Spokane-Cour de Lane area (2+ hrs drive)

To you here that have shot one, is the recoil much worse than say a g27( fairly snappy)?

The only difference I know of is the front to back thickness of the grip I have a Glock 29 and a 27. The recoil in the 29 is very manageable and I feel the 27 is a bit mor snappy than the 29 but YMMV. I would not give up the 27 for a 29 or 29 sf nor would I give up my 29 for the 27. If the availability of 10mm ammo was better here I would carry it.
    carverelli likes this.

I reload so ammo cost isnt much of a concern. So when they say the grip is smaller, its not so much thinner width wise. They're talking front to back like in the web of my thumb to the middle of my fingers.