Close to buying a 45 for carry, would like input

This is a discussion on Close to buying a 45 for carry, would like input within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am looking at buying an ATI FX45 Titan. This is an all steel gun with a 3.18 in barrel and 7 round mags. I ...

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree33Likes

Thread: Close to buying a 45 for carry, would like input

I am looking at buying an ATI FX45 Titan. This is an all steel gun with a 3.18 in barrel and 7 round mags. I have had different opinions regarding the recoil of short barrels on 45 autos. I know that recoil does not matter in a situation where the weapon is needed, but do these short barrels punish you at the range.

CWO

sgb
    I have no experience with ATI, however I've got plenty of experience with 1911's and the shorter they are the more problematic and maintenance sensitive they become. Shortest 1911 I still have is a 4 1/4" commander.
    "There is a secret pride in every human heart that revolts at tyranny. You may order and drive an individual, but you cannot make him respect you." William Hazlitt (1778 - 1830)

Best Choices for Self Defense Ammunition

smith and wesson pro series
    C hawk Glock likes this.

I think there are better options out there like the Glock 30/36, H&K USP Compact or a 3erd Gen S&W mid size 45.
    Have Fun and Shoot Straight !!

I am heading for a 45 also, am thinking Kimber Ultra. Any input good or bad will be appreciated.

The .45 ACP legendary stopping power is just that a "legend". In my work I have interviewed 4 people so far shot point blank in the forehead with a .45 acp out of a 1911 with no real ill effecets. It did not stop their attacks either. I know people willl not belive this but that does not change the facts.