9mm in 1911 platform?

This is a discussion on 9mm in 1911 platform? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm getting closer to getting my Aegis (4") out and am starting to second guess the 9mm in the 1911 platform. Does anyone have a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 9mm in 1911 platform?

Distinguished Member Array OhioCatter's Avatar

9mm in 1911 platform?

I'm getting closer to getting my Aegis (4") out and am starting to second guess the 9mm in the 1911 platform. Does anyone have a 1911 in 9mm and how well does it work for you? I think I can shoot the 9mm better than the 45acp so thats why I went that route. Since i'm new to all this I know it is better to ask people who have more expierence than I. If the 9mm is a bad idea in the 1911 I did find a 1911 that is about $150.00 less (Sig Scorpion 4.25") and that would give me more money for practice ammo. I'll take all honest opinions on this 9mm or 45acp on the 1911 platform. If the 9mm will work thats great, if not then it's a 45acp instead. Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

I've got a Dan Wesson PM9 and a Springfield Loaded 9mm. They seem to be a bit more sensitive to timing issues - easily dealt with by replacing the recoil spring regularly.

Other than that, the only consistent issue I've had is with the slide locking open on an empty mag. I've run Checkmate, Metalform, Tripp and Wilson 10 rd. mags and all of them, in both guns, consistently fail to lock open on the last round. All of these mags have the spacer at the back as opposed to the groove in the front (Springfield style). I've thought about switching to the Springfield style mag, and or have an oversize slide stop fitted.

It's a very accurate platform, and it's ridiculously fun to shoot!

VIP Member