Defensive Carry banner

Any Experience Out There w/ Kahr P45 or Taurus PT145

7K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  rawdawg1217 
#1 ·
I carry a Beretta PX4 9mm full size, BUG is a .38 special J Frame. I would like a more concealable smaller weapon but with higher capacity than my 5 shot. Anyone have experience / preference with the Kahr or Taurus with respect to reliability,carry-ability, ease of use, sights, accessories. Kahr seems terribly concealable but it's twice the price of a comparable Taurus. You get what you pay for ....but only sometimes. The other times you just pay more. Appreciate you experienced hands sharing your insights.

#2 ·
I have an older model first generation PT145 that had major issues about 4 years ago, but since it came back from Miami, its been great. The Taurus does pack a lot of firepower into a very small package.....I haven't found anything that even comes close. I have no experience with the current production models of the PT145.
If you like the Kahr but don't like the price of the P45, try the CW45. Same gun with standard rifling in the barrel, pinned front sight instead of a dovetail and less machining done on the slide than the P45. For the price differential the CW45 makes the most sense. P45/CW45 is a single stack 6+1 very thin pistol, and may be easier to conceal than the Taurus.
You won't find a whole lot of love for Taurus firearms on this forum as most of us that own them or did own them have sent them back to Miami for repairs at some point. Reliability and quality control seem to still be an issue at Taurus.
Lots of members here have and carry the CW45. Very good gun, and can be had at Davidsons for around $420 and Buds Gun Shop.com for $365 which is where I got mine. A superb value.

#4 ·