anyone carrying a makarov?

This is a discussion on anyone carrying a makarov? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, i just registered on the site, and i must say i'm very impressed with the people and content here. i'm new to cc, i ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: anyone carrying a makarov?

anyone carrying a makarov?

Hi, i just registered on the site, and i must say i'm very impressed with the people and content here. i'm new to cc, i just received my permit this fall. i currently have a makarov that i'm using with a small of the back holster. i was wondering what other style of holster would be good for me, and what ammo you would recommend? i'm 5'9" and 220lbs, so i have a belly that seems to be in the way with some holsters i've tried:).

2. Remove Ads

Welcome to DC! It's a wonderful place.

As for the Makarov, there's nothing wrong with it, but you can get smaller, thinner, lighter 9mm's that will be a much easier carry and a better round on top of that.

VIP Member
    Nothing wrong with a Mak, but it would not be my first choice.
    kahrcarrier likes this.
    Ccccccc what? Ccccccccccc Hawks!

VIP Member
    Welcome to the forum from Virginia.

While I don't carry a Makarov, I do on occasion carry a CZ82 chambered in 9mm Makarov. My defensive loads for it are Hornady Custom 9X18 MAK with the 95 gr XTP bullets.

Hornady Manufacturing Company :: Ammunition :: Handgun :: Choose by Caliber :: 9X18 Mak :: 9 x 18mm Makarov 95 gr XTP®
    LoneWolf26 likes this.
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

I carry mine to the range all the time but it is a bit heavy and the mag release is the pits