3" 1911

This is a discussion on 3" 1911 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I want to preface this by saying I'm not a competitive shooter, armorer, instructor or technical "expert" about guns. I have read the comments about ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By claude clay

Thread: 3" 1911

3" 1911

I want to preface this by saying I'm not a competitive shooter, armorer, instructor or technical "expert" about guns. I have read the comments about some 3" 1911s and I wanted to share my experience. I've been carrying and shooting the Colt New Agent for several months. (The one in my avatar as a matter of fact.)

This Colt is stock, no after market tweaks, parts, etc. (Except the grips.) I've been practicing weekly shooting an average of 100 rds of 230 gr FMJ and 25-50 rds of 230 gr JHP. No reloads. I only mentioned this so that you know what I'm basing my experience on. So my experience is based upon approx 2k plus rds. Not much at all.

Only shooting will provide me with the psychological belief that it will go bang and yes I understand that no weapon will be 100%. Thats why we should practice with snap caps to mimic FTF, etc.

As you know it has a trench style sight and is truly a point and shoot pistol. My groups have tightened as I learned how to use the trench sights. Use is sort of misleading. I don't aim with it, I use it to point with.

I'm now quite confident that it will go bang when I want it to. All of this to say that IMHO this is a reliable pistol. Not much of an endorsement coming from an old guy who only shot a few rds, but I wanted to share my experience. As always YMMV.
    "The only thing I'm an expert about is my experience."

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array claude clay's Avatar
    good comments

and the trench works --understand that you present the gun in your eyesight every time you shoot it.