Advice On "Cheap" Gun

This is a discussion on Advice On "Cheap" Gun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; An employee of mine (head line cook) approached me today about what kind of gun he could get for three hundred dollars or less. I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Advice On "Cheap" Gun

Advice On "Cheap" Gun

An employee of mine (head line cook) approached me today about what kind of gun he could get for three hundred dollars or less. I was rather at a loss, because even my wife's CC gun, Ruger LC9, ran us around $379. He said he'd been looking into Hi-Points and Kel-Tecs, but I have zero knowledge when it comes to these manufacturers. I have a friend who pocket carries a Kel-Tec .380, and he says it's reliable, but I wouldn't be happy with the caliber.

I've heard good and bad about Kel-Tec, but nothing at all about Hi-Points. I pointed out to my employee that I'd read up on the Sigma by S&W(for one of my waitresses that wanted to buy her husband a low cost gun for Valentine's Day), but that it had a rep for a lousy trigger. Finally, I suggested he go to our local Police and Tactical supply and ask about used Glocks or Sigs.

Anything else I can tell him?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member
    I got my KelTec PF9 for $250 at NW Armory, and I like it. Because of the way KelTecs are made, it may require some extra care at first, like a "fluff and buff" which you can find out how to do by Googling. I haven't seen the need for mine but one thing that some may forget to do as well is to clean the hole where the firing pin comes through and put a little oil on it on the spring side. Not much, just a little tiny bit. Also, don't dry fire a PF9. The manufacturer explicitly says in the manual not to, and someone posted on a forum I saw where they had a bent firing pin because of doing so. But snap caps are easy to purchase.