Why Glock?

This is a discussion on Why Glock? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First off - I love the .45 ACP round. That said, I've been shopping around for a full sized 1911; I like the style of ...

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree70Likes

Thread: Why Glock?

Question Why Glock?

First off - I love the .45 ACP round. That said, I've been shopping around for a full sized 1911; I like the style of the weapon and its heritage. I've fired my Marine buddy's WW1 weapon and it was heaven!

Then last night after the neighborhood watch meeting, my buddy shows me his new Glock 21 in .45 ACP. After clearing it, he let me handle it and showed me all the features. I must say I was intrigued - it was light and simple to operate and the 13+1 capacity was nice as well.

I know there's a ton of Glock folks on this forum. What is 'it' about Glocks? Why should I consider a Glock over a traditional 1911?
    US Air Force, 1986 - 2007

"To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them..." George Mason

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Oh no. Here we go...

I don't feel particularly biased toward one over the other. I love both platforms, and each have their strengths. Here's a thought...

If I'm going out in the woods to do a little recreational shooting on a bright sunny day, I'll likely bring my pristine Springfield 1911. The 1911 is my hands-down favorite auto-loader to shoot.

If it's raining, and I know I'm gonna get soaked sitting in the woods waiting for that phantom buck to show up, the Glock is going to be my sidearm. If it's 105 degrees and I'm going to be working outside and sweating a river, I'll have the Glock.

This isn't to say that the 1911 can't take a beating. I'm just saying that I'd rather beat on a Glock.
    claude clay likes this.

NMB
    Quote Originally Posted by mano3 View Post
    it was light and simple to operate and the 13+1 capacity was nice as well.