Searching for my first handgun...CC focus.

This is a discussion on Searching for my first handgun...CC focus. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; New user here. Been stalking the forum for awhile, and I've finally decided to join. I've decided to get my carry permit soon so I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Searching for my first handgun...CC focus.

New user here. Been stalking the forum for awhile, and I've finally decided to join. I've decided to get my carry permit soon so I have been doing a lot of research on handguns for the past few weeks. I'm familiar with shotguns, as Ihave shot them my whole life hunting, but I am new to the handgun area. I have family members with a few handguns, and I have shot theirs to get accustomed to them so I can use the info to find a gun for myself.

Things I have narrowed down that I would like:

-Around 400-500 dollars.
    -Needs to be good for conceal carry, but stand up to normal range use(I have a homemade range at my house so I will probably be shooting often.
    -DA/SA hammer or a striker fire with short reset, I want the follow up shots to be able to get off quick.
    -I want the first long trigger pull to act as the safety; I don't want external safeties I have to mess with.
    -I'm not totally set on caliber, but I would like an affordable one, maybe 9mm or .40sw.
    -Needs to be reliable for carry/self defense.
    Can't think of anymore at the moment.

So far I have been drawn towards the new Bersa Bp9cc and the Bersa 9mm/40 UC.
    I have also been looking at the Glock 26 and 27. The 27 appeals to me because of the ability to change out the barrels and switch to 9mm or .357sig.

Any suggestions or advice is welcome.

Welcome...welcome. Sounds like you perfectly described a Glock to me. I have the 27, its a great little gun for CC. Pop in a 14 round G22 mag for home defense and your good to go.
    Glock 22, 27 Gen 4