why the constant cleaning?

This is a discussion on why the constant cleaning? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I read alot of threads here, and the one thing I notice is the constant detail stripping and cleaning and oiling of autos. On new ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: why the constant cleaning?

why the constant cleaning?

I read alot of threads here, and the one thing I notice is the constant detail stripping and cleaning and oiling of autos. On new guns I understand. I wouldn't shoot anything that hasn't been shot before without taking a good look under the hood. But I read where after 50, 100, 200,... rnds the gun is stripped and cleaned and oiled again. I've been messing with Colt 1911s for over 35 years, and I don't think I've detail stripped and cleaned any of them more than once. They get oiled, shook out and wiped down as shot. Sometimes the shake out part is forgotten, but quickly remembered as the shooter in the next station complains about oil splash..lol. I can't remember the last FTF or FTE I've had. Granted, my 1911s are rather loose, being as most are war vets. But my Gold Cup Nat. Match, and LW Commander are more snug, and they work just fine too. And all get carried at one time or another. After a quick shake and wipe down.
    I guess my guns seem to thrive on neglect.
    So does the constant cleaning have something to do with the carry part? As in not wanting to oil up shirts or pants? Or is the constant stripping and cleaning taking the sharp edges off and just wearing the gun in.
    I know I'll probably get flamed for this question, but it's something that's got me puzzled.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I clean my edc often because it rides up against my body all day long and is fired regularly. Flaking skin, powder residue and sweat do nothing positive for the longevity of pistol servicability.
    "When you have to shoot, shoot, don't talk."
    Tuco