Cleaning around firing pin?

This is a discussion on Cleaning around firing pin? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am still new to this. thank you all for your help so far!! I am qurious on how to clean around the firing pin? ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Cleaning around firing pin?

Cleaning around firing pin?

I am still new to this. thank you all for your help so far!! I am qurious on how to clean around the firing pin? i notice with my glock 23 the firing pin is actually sticking out unlike my taraus when cleaning. You arnt supoose to get any oil on the firing pin right? That area around the firing pin seems to bug me a bit.

Thank You
    Paul

2. Remove Ads

On a glock, you can pull out the striker assembly and clean the firring pin channel. I use a "Fuzzy Stick" or what they called pipe cleaners back when I was in elementary school making arts and crafts out of them. I also wipe down the tip of the striker.
    -It is a seriously scary thought that there are subsets of American society that think being intellectual is a BAD thing...

NEVER put oil on the firing pin. As for the cleanliness of your Glock, here's a fun fact: someone fired 14,000 rounds through a Glock 19 in 20 minutes. Never a failure. The cleaning you give your gun after your trip to the range is just for fun really. I'm not saying proper gun care isn't important or that Glocks never need to be cleaned. But you don't have to eat off of them. I hit that area with Qtips and a hard bristled toothbrush. You will never get rid of some of the burn marks, but just clean off the carbon residue. You'll know you're done when you can run a white Qtip over the area and it stays white.
    "Though defensive violence will always be a 'sad necessity' in the eyes of men of principle, it would be still more unfortunate if wrongdoers should dominate just men." - St. Augustine