Kimber Solo vs. Rohrbaugh R9

This is a discussion on Kimber Solo vs. Rohrbaugh R9 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to this form and have a few questions about the Kimber Solo and the Rohrbaugh R9. I have been doing a lot ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Scott_T
  • 2 Post By los

Thread: Kimber Solo vs. Rohrbaugh R9

Kimber Solo vs. Rohrbaugh R9

I am new to this form and have a few questions about the Kimber Solo and the Rohrbaugh R9. I have been doing a lot of research online I found that the Solo has had some issues recently (peening of the slide caused by barrel rubbing, FTE issues, slide inadvertantly locking back after a dew rounds. Conversely it seems that the R9 is more reliable and has a better build quality, and no reported issues.

If anyone has either/both of these guns, I would really like your opinion on why you would carry one over the other.

Thanks,

Dominick

2. Remove Ads

I have both the Kimber Solo STS and a Rohrbaugh R9s (as well as a Kahr PM9). Both of these pistols have been flawless for me. A couple quick things from my experience:

Size: The R9 is a good bit smaller & lighter. The Solo is not large by any means, and I find it to be a tiny bit smaller than my PM9 and it conceals better as well as having a better "melt" job. The R9 though - this thing is tiny. Smaller than the Solo in every dimension and a few ounces lighter as well.

Build quality: Both of these pistols are of superb quality in my opinion. Neither of these pistols show any machining marks, are both nice and tight and exude craftmanship. I do find though that the R9s seems to be just a little bit higher quality but this might be all in my mind due to paying a higher price for this pistol. The finish on the Solo (Kimpro) is definatley not as tough as the finish on the Rohrboaugh R9s.