Keep 'em all on one platform?

This is a discussion on Keep 'em all on one platform? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new here but like the advice given. Seems more unbiased than that given on the manufacturers' forums. Anyway, I plan on buying two or ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Keep 'em all on one platform?

Keep 'em all on one platform?

I'm new here but like the advice given. Seems more unbiased than that given on the manufacturers' forums.

Anyway, I plan on buying two or three polymer pistols over.the next few months and am hoping you all can advise me on something I cant seem to wrap my arms around.

I have a lot of experience with long guns and revolvers, but these will be my fist semi-auto pistols. I've done my homework, figured out what I want and like and have rented the guns and put 150 - 200 rounds through each. For myself, I plan on getting a 9mm for CCW and a 9mm for home defense/range/fun. I will also be getting the wife a CCW 9mm.

I've shot and like the M&P in 9 Pro 5", 9fs, 9c and 9Shield. I've also shot and like the G26, G19 and G17. My favorite, however, and the one I shoot best (barely, though) is the PPQ.

The dudes down at the LGS say I should stick to one platform for ease of training. And, of course, any Glock or M&P fanbois you talk to tell me the same thing. I'm certain I would be happy with three M&Ps or three Glocks. I just can't seem to shake the fact the PPQ feels so good in my hand and I point it so naturally, though.

Would a.guy be making a mistake by getting the little woman a Shield and himself a.G26 and PPQ? Would I be better of with a Shield, 9c and 9 Pro 5"? Or perhaps two G26s and a G17? Can I learn different platforms effectively? I mean, I see all the time the gun lists of folks who own many different platforms.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

2. Remove Ads