Advice on upgrade for more knock down force

This is a discussion on Advice on upgrade for more knock down force within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am an ex-police officer. I carried a 9mm S&W 39-2 for several years and found it to be a very reliable weapon. I've read ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Advice on upgrade for more knock down force

Advice on upgrade for more knock down force

I am an ex-police officer. I carried a 9mm S&W 39-2 for several years and found it to be a very reliable weapon. I've read a lot about how 9mm is a minimum caliber for defense. I think the .45 or 10mm? would be a better choice for defense. I'd like a weapon smaller than the Colt 1911.

Any ideas?

2. Remove Ads

Don't get caught up in the hype that a 9mm is just barely enough. A well placed 9 trumps any poorly placed larger caliber and most of the time if you stay with proven SD ammunition your going to be pretty equal.

Why not stick with something you are used to. M&P would be good. Look at the Shield in 9mm or .40. or any M&P compact. How about .45 m&p compact.
    How about glocks?? G23 .45 compact glock or g19 9mm compact.

As an ex-police officer you should know caliber or gun size isnt necessarily the only shopping factors.

Inexpensive knock down force

"One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation."
    --Thomas B. Reed, American Attorney

Second Amendment -- Established December 15, 1791 and slowly eroded ever since What happened to "..... shall not be infringed."

VIP Member
    I'm not a huge fan of the term "knock down force". Shot placement (CNS hits) have far more to do with "knock down" (more like "drop down") than caliber does.

As far as caliber, I will occasionally alternate between 9mm and 45ACP. There are trade-offs between the two, but they are minor in the context of self defense.
    sgb likes this.