Defensive Carry banner

A Blog and Video on Recoil

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Ljutic 
#1 ·
Since I blog about small pistols, I get asked about recoil very frequently. Unfortunately, recoil is one of the most subjective things for me to comment on. I may find something pleasant to shoot that others might find intolerable. I know there's a real need for some visual demonstration of recoil, but up until this weekend I was at a loss for the tools to make it happen. This is my first attempt so I welcome any feedback you may have.

Full Story:
Pocket Guns and Gear: Recoil-Cam Returns

Just the Video:

#2 ·
Good video on the different recoils.

#3 ·
Nice video. You can see how the PM40 wants to tear itself out of your hand. I fired one once, and much prefer the 9mm in a package that small and light weight.

If you do such a video in the future, I would suggest you have a background that includes some markings so viewers can get a better idea of the backwards and upwards movement of each gun. Then, you can present each gun in turn, rather than all of them simultaneously - hard to watch so many things happening at the same time.

Finally, did you use the same 9mm ammo in all the 9mm guns? That would take that variable out of the equation.

Thanks for posting!

:thumbsup:

Oh, by the way...for gun folks, "FPS" = Feet per second, not "Frames" per second. Might want to try a new acronym... :lol:

#6 ·
Thanks for the feedback.

The PM40 really isn't that bad to shoot, but I could never figure out why I always felt the need to regrip. Now I know, so I can try to train and compensate, or just forget about it as a carry option.