Help a newbie sort out his CC equipment & plan!

This is a discussion on Help a newbie sort out his CC equipment & plan! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello, I'm new to defensive carry, and I think I'm ready to take the big step. I have a handgun permit. I need some advice ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Help a newbie sort out his CC equipment & plan!

Hello, I'm new to defensive carry, and I think I'm ready to take the big step. I have a handgun permit. I need some advice on the sort of equipment that will best fit my needs! You'll see that I have a number of questions, and I'm appealing to the collective experience and knowledge of this forum for assistance.

This is what I'm thinking at the moment. I am considering carrying a pocket gun. Here's why:

1. My office does not allow guns, and this is a given I'll need to work with. (Please don't suggest ignoring this rule.) So if I want to carry during the commute, I'll need to leave the gun in the car in the parking lot. It's hard for me to imagine undoing my pants, strapping on an IWB holster, and putting in a compact or full size pistol every time I arrive at or leave my office. So this suggests a pocket gun.

2. We wear at least a jacket, if not a suit & tie, at work. In winter, typically we wear long coats. Even if I am allowed to carry a big gun in an IWB, it's hard for me to imagine how I'll get it out on the street. ("Hold on there, Mr. Mugger. Let me button my coat and fumble around with all this heavy fabric so I can pull out my intimidating government 1911 in .45 ACP.") It seems that a pocket pistol in the outside pocket or in the chest pocket would mean faster access.

Is there a way to carry a bigger gun, given the restrictions of my office and my work attire? I really would prefer something bigger than a pocket gun. Here are the reasons against carrying a pocket gun: