Pocket 9's

This is a discussion on Pocket 9's within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to CC weapons I currently have a P3AT I bought for the ability to pocket carry now I am maybe looking to ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Pocket 9's

Pocket 9's

I am new to CC weapons I currently have a P3AT I bought for the ability to pocket carry now I am maybe looking to move up to a 9mm in pocket carry. I was wondering whats 9mm can be pocket carried. Also I have been looking hard at a LCR. Thanks for any help!

2. Remove Ads

Depends on the size/shape of the pockets, and the shape of you at that spot. But I've successfully pocket carried a Kahr PM9 9mm, KelTec PF9 9mm. Had decent holsters made for each. The pants pockets were semi-cargo style with "bellows" sides to allow for the added bulk. Worked very well, in each case.

The KT P3AT and Kahr P380 did disappear more readily, though. Edges/flat of the holstered gun were better able to be blended into the curve of the leg at that spot by the holster, as compared to their larger counterparts.

For comparison, in a pair of the 7-Pocket Hiker Pants (from Cabela's), I've even gotten a CZ P-01 9mm and a Kahr CW9 9mm in an IWB belt holster to fit into the pocket ... which says a lot about the size and capacity of those pockets, there. The CW9's about the largest I'd consider in the pocket, pocket size allowing. Preference is absolutely in the PM9 size range, for me.

One option might be a 9mm revolver, if you're looking for options. ie, S&W 940 or Taurus 905.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

Distinguished Member Array 21bubba's Avatar