1911 Can of Worms

This is a discussion on 1911 Can of Worms within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I know this might open up a can of worms, but I'm looking for help finding a CCW 1911. I don't have a big budget. ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 1911 Can of Worms

1911 Can of Worms

I know this might open up a can of worms, but I'm looking for help finding a CCW 1911. I don't have a big budget. I want a easily concealable 1911 that will wear well (stainless, or hard finish) for every day carry in 45 ACP. I'm not partial to brand. I don't need ambidex. saftey etc. Something in a comander size or smaller is what I'm thinking. I've looked at Para, Springfield, and Kimber and liked them all for different reasons. I'm fairly new to 1911's. I like to shoot them, but don't really know the differences. HELP!!!
    I'll keep my freedom, my liberty, and my guns. You can keep the change.

2. Remove Ads

Springfield GI

Personally, I would not go with the Para; I think Springfield and Kimber have better quality. And since one of your parameters is price, my vote is for a Springfield GI. It has the basics (and looks great with the "U.S." grips IMO) for about 500-600 dollars. Anyways, I hope you end up what you are looking for.

Oh, and for carry, have you considered 3" models, or are you a 5" guy like me?

Bring about $450-$500 in cash to gun shows and keep your eyes open for a good used 1911. Stick with the basics and upgrade/modify when you know what you want to improve upon.

Distinguished Member Array USPnTX's Avatar
    Opening up worm cans seems to be pretty normal around here