locked breech vs blowback

This is a discussion on locked breech vs blowback within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Not being a trained or self-taught gunsmith, I'm pretty much in the dark on exactly how semi automatic pistols operate. I just keep mine field ...

Thread: locked breech vs blowback

locked breech vs blowback

Not being a trained or self-taught gunsmith, I'm pretty much in the dark on exactly how semi automatic pistols operate. I just keep mine field cleaned and when it comes to my Glock, I'll occasionally break it down a bit further in order to clean the channels for the striker and the extractor, etc.

My question is this: do locked breech guns provide any advantages in terms of reliability compared to blowback designs? Just what are the relative merits of both designs? Is there a major difference in recoil? Are certain calibers inherently better suited for one system or the other? What are popular examples of each?

Any other observations would be appreciated. Thanks.
    I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy - Tom Waits

2. Remove Ads

I've always heard that blowback is better suited to smaller calibers and locked breech for the bigger ones. YMMV.
    "If you only knew the power of the dark side!" - Darth Vader

VIP Member
    Here is an article that may provide some insight as to the differences.

Semi-automatic pistol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

sgb