Carrying while cycling?

This is a discussion on Carrying while cycling? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, I joined this forum because I'm in need of advice from experienced members. I'm a female cyclist who rides ~170 miles/wk on many quiet ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Carrying while cycling?

Carrying while cycling?

Hi, I joined this forum because I'm in need of advice from experienced members. I'm a female cyclist who rides ~170 miles/wk on many quiet rural roads. I've had to deal with the occasional pack of aggressive dogs and usually take care of this with a citronella spray that's pretty harmless, but always works. Recently though, after I was shot by a double-barrel BB gun (or similar), some officers suggested that I might think about carrying a gun. I'm not completely opposed to the idea. I've had some experience learning to use a .38 Special in my college days, but other than that, I'm not familiar with other types. I'm considering a Rugar LCR (and the training to go with it) and am wondering if I would need to be concerned with any accidental discharge in the event of a crash or even a lot of shaking (crossing railroad tracks). I'm also wondering how I might carry this (on my person or the bike considering the possibility of a crash) and how easily I might be able to get it if needed considering that I'm clipped into the pedals and my cycling shoes have knobby cleats (not easy to walk on). Do you think pepper spray would be a better option on the bike since I can grab/use with one hand? Thanks for any advice/info!!

2. Remove Ads

No modern guns will not just go off. Make sure the holster covers the trigger