Kahr CM9 slide spring

Kahr CM9 slide spring

This is a discussion on Kahr CM9 slide spring within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was checking out some smaller guns today and I finally looked at the Kahr CM9. I liked everything about the gun, but the slide ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kahr CM9 slide spring

Kahr CM9 slide spring

I was checking out some smaller guns today and I finally looked at the Kahr CM9. I liked everything about the gun, but the slide was very hard to operate. It must have a heck of a spring in there. The gun store guy said it would break in but it was just a bear to pull back. BTW I am not a wimp, I am a mechanic so I do have some strength. Just looking for advice. Maybe I am just to used to my Sig P238, and my Sig 22

Steve

The CM9 as new are tough to rack the slide. Small area to grip and it has sought spring. It does get easier after you clean it and shoot it about 200 rounds. They are very accurate at defensive distances and the trigger is very consistent. For evening walks I grab the cm9 and a remora holster. Sweat pants and sweat shirt it carries wonderfully.

I agree they are very tight when new. I have had mine for about a year and really like it. I put a Crimson Trace on mine and carry it a lot. Go to Kahrtalk and find the sticky on breaking in a new Kahr. i followed the directions on the thread and have had no problems with any of my 3 Kahrs.

Distinguished Member Array ripley16's Avatar
    Welcome to the forum. I think you'll find that most micro 9mms, and larger calibers, will have a pretty stiff recoil spring. In the case of the tiny Kahrs, there are two springs and they have to do a lot of work in a very small space. Like most things, the more you do it, the easier and more natural it becomes. All Kahrs are +P rated and have fairly high rated springs. It's the nature of the beast, so to speak.