Cleaning Patch Direction

Cleaning Patch Direction

This is a discussion on Cleaning Patch Direction within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; To start: I have searched the forum & couldn't find this topic, so here goes. I've been shooting & cleaning weapons for over 40 years. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Cleaning Patch Direction

Cleaning Patch Direction

To start: I have searched the forum & couldn't find this topic, so here goes.

I've been shooting & cleaning weapons for over 40 years. Every so often, I hear someone state that when cleaning a weapon, the cleaning patch(es) should ONLY be pulled or pushed through the barrel "in the direction the bullet travels." When I've asked "Why?" Nobody has ever been able to give me an answer that makes a lick of sense and then it always ends with: "That's the way I was taught."

With all of the expertise in this forum, I figured that somebody might know if this is actually true (or not). If it is true, please explain "Why?"
    KNOWLEDGE: A tomato is a fruit.
    WISDOM: Not putting a tomato in a fruit salad.

Lead Moderator
    I understood it was to prevent damage to the crown of the barrel (accuracy affected).
    USAFFire likes this.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.
    It makes no difference. Pushing patches from muzzle to breech tends to shove the gunk into the working rather than out of it. A hard steel cleaning rod could damage rifling regardless of direction. Brass/aluminum won't. I run my patches and brushes both directions, likewise for over 40 years.

Clean however you desire, as long as you get the job done.
    dV8r likes this.
    Retired USAF E-8. Lighten up and enjoy life because: