Range Report: Brand new SR9c and Bodyguard 380

This is a discussion on Range Report: Brand new SR9c and Bodyguard 380 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Bought my first and second guns in the past two months. Finally got a chance to take them to the range after giving them a ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By gasmitty
  • 1 Post By billstaf

Thread: Range Report: Brand new SR9c and Bodyguard 380

Bought my first and second guns in the past two months. Finally got a chance to take them to the range after giving them a thorough cleaning after purchase.

Ruger SR9c: Fired about 150 rounds of WWB using both the 10 round and 17 round magazine. This was my third time to the range in my lifetime, so I'm a novice shooter. The gun is great to shoot and I was able to keep my shots close to the target at 7 yards. I also shot 10 rounds of Speer Gold Dot 147g. I also found out that this is what my local police force uses. No malfunctions of any kind.

S&W Bodyguard 380: Fired 100 rounds of Fiocchi ammo. This gun will take some getting used to due to the long trigger pull (which I knew going in). I began to get more comfortable shooting it by the 100 round mark but definitely want to shoot a couple hundred more rounds. I also shot one 6 round mag of Speer Gold Dots and these also functioned well. My accuracy was sporadic at times, but I feel I can get more on target with further practice. As a novice, it is difficult for me to keep the gun on target through the trigger pull. Towards the end I was practicing pulling the trigger quick, yet steady and was having good results. More practice and I think I will be very proficient with it.

All in all, it was a great day. No hint of a malfunction with either gun.