Quality semi auto on a small budget, advice wanted.

This is a discussion on Quality semi auto on a small budget, advice wanted. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello everyone. I am new to guns and I am learning what I can from reading. I am looking for my first handgun for legal ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Quality semi auto on a small budget, advice wanted.

Quality semi auto on a small budget, advice wanted.

Hello everyone. I am new to guns and I am learning what I can from reading. I am looking for my first handgun for legal concealed carry, home defense in an apartment, and fun practicing at the range. A Glock is nice but they start at $500. I am looking in to the total over all cost to own and shoot the gun. It seems that the 9mm is a good over all round for edc and a newbie. I have around $500 total to play with, $50 of it will be for my ccw permit. That leaves $450 for gun, holster, etc. in my price range, what should I be looking at? Ruger LC9, S&W sd9 ve, Taurus milinium pro, etc? I know there are better guns out there such as a Sig or HK, but they are over budget. The goal here is edc and practice at the range, not to win a shooting contest. Thanks for the advice in helping me narrow down the choices for my first firearm.

2. Remove Ads

As I raved about in another post, I love my CZ75 P-07 Duty that I've had for about 90 days now. You should be able to pick one up for $380-$430 or so I would think.

Well, maybe $380 might be a bit low after looking over at gunbroker..........
    Last edited by boutaswell; December 3rd, 2012 at 11:33 AM. Reason: quick research
    Richard, SFC US Army (Ret)

“Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery?
    Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!” ― Patrick Henry

Senior Moderator