Votes: 47 17.5%
  • Semi-Automatic

Votes: 174 64.9%
  • Both get equal time in my carry rotation

Votes: 47 17.5%

Simple Poll...Revolver or SemiAuto

6K views 73 replies 68 participants last post by  shadowwalker 
#1 ·
As a CCW instructor, I was just curious about the number of people carrying revolvers versus semi-automatics. I figure the best place to start is here at Defensive Carry. So which is it for you?

#5 ·
I can't really answer, as it depends on the circumstances.

My own personal experience has led me to the revolver (LCR) when the situation calls for small, light weight, and discreet...with a micro semi auto (LCP) as a BUG.

When I don't need to be as concerned about discretion, then it's a semi auto (Glock 30)...with the revolver (LCR) as a BUG.

#6 ·
All my carry guns are autos. I just like autos better for some reason. But I used to carry a model 85 taurus. And did that carry nice. I wouldnt hesitate to carry another wheelgun if I had it. But the autos are my cup o tea right now. Stay safe.

#7 ·
M&P compact.357sig, Kel Tec P11 & summertime around the house might find me with a 442 apendix carry in shorts or swim suit.
.357 revolver up N. in the woods.

#9 ·
99% of the time my EDC and BUG are auto loaders and the 1% is a revolver just for a change.

#10 ·
All my current handguns are semis. But I wouldn't hesitate to pocket a 442/642 if one were to appear in my inventory.

#11 ·
Wow... I can't believe I was the first wheel gun vote! Anyway... My primary EDC is a LCR in .38. I have a G26 that I told myself I would carry in "higher threat situations" but in the six or so months since I have been EDCing the LCR I have only carried the G26. And that high threat situation turned out to be utterly hilarious but better safe then sorry.

#16 ·
I prefer revolvers because I can keep my brass intact for reloading which = alot more economical shooting. I also prefer revolvers for other reasons, but I carry both as the fancy strikes me.

Reactions: aus71383
#22 ·