.380 v. 9mm

.380 v. 9mm

This is a discussion on .380 v. 9mm within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, Ok, I know I am asking a ridiculous question that is fairly subjective and will likely bring as many opposing opinions as answers, but ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: .380 v. 9mm

.380 v. 9mm

Ok, Ok, I know I am asking a ridiculous question that is fairly subjective and will likely bring as many opposing opinions as answers, but I'm a newbie and looking for an effective carry weapon. So, here it goes; which do you prefer CC, and Why?Thanks gang!

9mm...more beef...

With all of the new small 9mm's available now, I see no reason to carry a .380. I totally agree Dooger, more beef!
    kmagnuss, Nmuskier and sensei2 like this.
    "To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of people always possess arms..."
    --Richard Henry Lee, 1788

"The strongest reason for people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government." - Thomas Jefferson

.40 It's only .02 bigger than .380, but it's amazing how much more bang you get. ;-)
    Raleigh... Where Barney comes to Party...

Glock 27 or M&P Shield for every day carry (LCP for deep conceal when necessary)... Glock 23 for the home.

Call me Iggy. Only my mother calls me by my full given name.

I have a 32 and a 380 I use in my carry rotation when circumstances dictate the need for an ultra deep concealment piece. But general carry I like my 9mm for a little more punch.
    ccman likes this.

9mm gives you more power and the 9mm ammo seems to be more readily available and at about the the same price as .380.

Bullet weight are higher in the 9mm - 115, 124, 135, 147 grains as compared to .380 at 90 or 95 grains.