.380 + P in a KelTec ?

This is a discussion on .380 + P in a KelTec ? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have some Buffalo Bore 95 gr FMJ that I am carrying in my P3AT but have not shot any of it. Any thoughts on ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By MamaMaria
  • 1 Post By rammerjammer

Thread: .380 + P in a KelTec ?

.380 + P in a KelTec ?

I have some Buffalo Bore 95 gr FMJ that I am carrying in my P3AT but have not shot any of it. Any thoughts on this?

2. Remove Ads

My thought is that it is an important step to test any round you intend on carrying, in order to make sure your gun shoots and feeds it well. At minimum, fire a mag or two through each of your magazines. As far as the cartridge itself, I have no experience with it. However, I do see on Buffalo Bore's site that the Kel-Tec was one of the "test" guns they used, and it performed well.
    archer51 likes this.
    EDC--XD9 Service and/or XDs-45 depending on my mood
    Soon-to-be new mama to a S&W 66-2 4"

I like all of my fingers so I would have to say no. Then again you wouldn't find a Kel Tec in my hands.
    sebring likes this.
    "Was there no end to the conspiracy of irrational prejudice against Red Ryder and his peacemaker?"

Revolvers, “more elegant weapons for a more civilized age.”

Re: .380 + P in a KelTec ?

I note that, as far as I know, there is no accepted SAAMI 380 +P standard. I tested Buffalo Bore 380 +P in my Kahr P380 and it worked well. It is a well made pistol. I do not know if other little 380 pistols will handle it as well.

I have shot those out of my Sig P232, they are stout! And the 232 is a heavy gun for a 380.
    My brother-in-law has the P3AT and it is a bit less than fun (comfortable) with target ammo. I suspect that the BB +P ammo in a P3AT
    will be pretty rough, on you and the gun.
    The man's nuts....grab 'em!
    A pistol free zone is a crime spree zone!
    NRA Life Member