M&P Compact vs. M&P Shield for concealed carry

This is a discussion on M&P Compact vs. M&P Shield for concealed carry within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; While I am not at all new to firearms, I am very new to concealed carry. Strangely, I have had a CCW permit for years ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: M&P Compact vs. M&P Shield for concealed carry

While I am not at all new to firearms, I am very new to concealed carry. Strangely, I have had a CCW permit for years but never actually carried. The only handgun I own is a beloved S&W 686. However, because I am a petite 6'5" & 250lbs, that gun, even with a four inch barrel, is a bit tough to conceal. I have been looking at something a bit more manageable and decided on either a PPS or Shield. Because I hesitated, I can now find neither, but am seeing M&P Compacts. My plan had been to use a Remora holster, but I'm now wondering (1) how comfortable the Compact is in real life carry, & (2) how the Compact rides in a Remora.

Please be gentle....

Quote Originally Posted by Noobie View Post
    While I am not at all new to firearms, I am very new to concealed carry. Strangely, I have had a CCW permit for years but never actually carried. The only handgun I own is a beloved S&W 686. However, because I am a petite 6'5" & 250lbs, that gun, even with a four inch barrel, is a bit tough to conceal. I have been looking at something a bit more manageable and decided on either a PPS or Shield. Because I hesitated, I can now find neither, but am seeing M&P Compacts. My plan had been to use a Remora holster, but I'm now wondering (1) how comfortable the Compact is in real life carry, & (2) how the Compact rides in a Remora.

Please be gentle....