Help with actions relative to safety

This is a discussion on Help with actions relative to safety within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I recently got a great deal on a new m&p9. No thumb safety, no magazine safety, 17rd, new in box. I just got my permit ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Help with actions relative to safety

Help with actions relative to safety

I recently got a great deal on a new m&p9. No thumb safety, no magazine safety, 17rd, new in box. I just got my permit a week before.
    I'm new to carrying. I shot a couple boxes and then put the gun in the closet until I could learn enough to feel safe and confident. I had no idea what I was in for.
    I've read stickies about ammo, actions, triggers, and studied nuances of the major players.
    Here is my problem; I don't want my gun to cause accidental grief ever. After really studying my S&W it appears that what I thought was a DAO is really a SA. No idea how people refer to it as a DAO. Maybe I'm wrong, but since S&W doesn't exactly offer a technical area on their web site, I have to go with what I've learned. So now I'm worried about the fact that the striker could move.
    What is the absolute safest category (or even specific models) to carry assuming that I'm 100% safe in MY actions? I'm committed to being safe and have all the confidence in the world that I will be safe once I fully understand my firearm.
    No way I have the guts to carry cocked an locked so SA is out.
    I'm not worrying about ultra fine performance and splitting hairs. I want to learn enough to select one gun and learn every aspect of it. I would be happy to manage any shortcomings of a gun a long as I knew it was reliable and ultra safe.

I feel like I will never learn enough. Reading for days and every time I think I have it figured out, something new crops up.

Thanks for any help.

Gary

2. Remove Ads