Advice needed

Advice needed

This is a discussion on Advice needed within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I grew up with guns but have not carried one or kept up on technology for last 20 plus years. Used to carry 44 mag ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By DaveInEdmonds
  • 1 Post By Easy8

Thread: Advice needed

Advice needed

I grew up with guns but have not carried one or kept up on technology for last 20 plus years. Used to carry 44 mag in bear country and 22 for snakes when I was a field geologist. Now I am an artist and I do outdoor art shows and festivals. I usually have an inventory of silver buckles and leather goods of about $50K and at the end of a show maybe $500 to $1K in my cash box. I am usually the last one off the street after a show and loading up after dark. First thought about 1911 Colt 45 but now think something about the size of snub nose 38 special would be more appropriate. What would you advise: revolver or more modern automatic? I am 69, in good shape, small stature and not going to win any bar fights.

The short answer is what you are more comfortable shooting and carrying. Lots of options out there - either revolvers or modern autos will do the job. 1911 works fine if that is your thing but i'd consider the lighter commander length models if you are going to carry. I have a SW1911 E Series Gov't and I can say it isn't a fun carry gun. It an be done but there are a lot of easier ways to accomplish the same task.

VIP Member
    As a coin collector I can understand your concerns, my preference in an EDC is a 3 inch 1911 but any size will conceal well, now as to revolvers there are plenty of fine choices available, myself I would chose one in either a three or four inch in 357. A S&W Model 19 is only slightly thicker than a 1911 and gives you the choice of either 38spl, 38spl +P or 357, which should take care of any defensive carry situation.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.