Defensive Carry banner

Questions about clearing firearm

2K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  Superhouse 15 
#1 ·
So I am fairly new to concealed carry, and was just thinking. Right now, I carry without a round chambered(just not 100% comfortable yet). I like to horse play with my 3 yr old, so kinda the big reason for not clambering a round. Anyways... If and when I decide to chamber, and horse play begins, do I just remove pistol from holster, eject mag, and clear chamber, and leave the spring cocked on the gun?

I carry an SR40C, and believe the owners manual states not to dry fire gun without an empty magazine inserted...well I don't carry an empty mag everywhere I go.

So what do you recommend?

#2 ·
I to have an SR40C. The dangers of not carrying a loaded chamber aside, their is an easy fix for this and it takes 5 minutes a 15mm punch and you tube. Remova the mag safety. The SR series pistol mag safety is in the slide, and is pushed out of the way by an inserted magazine. With it in place, when you dry fire the striker is stopped short and slams into the mag safety, potentially damaging both. If you remove it you can safely dry fire the weapon with out in place. I personally will not dry fire with a magazine in the weapon EVER! As far as the horseplay goes, why remove the mag? secure the weapon properly and it shouldnt be a concern.

Reactions: NewtownSam
#5 ·
Alright, thanks. So did you mean the dangers or carrying with one in chamber or not one in chamber. I will have to check YouTube for that video, but may just leave the firearm in ready position, with safety on.

There is actually no reason why you should need to decock it. It won't hurt the spring to remain compressed. The inability to dry fire the pistol without damage would be a bigger concern to me.
So I should probably watch the vid above and remove the mag safety? I just don't like to tamper with stuff like that. But would like to dry fire around house to get used to trigger.