Questions about clearing firearm

This is a discussion on Questions about clearing firearm within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So I am fairly new to concealed carry, and was just thinking. Right now, I carry without a round chambered(just not 100% comfortable yet). I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Questions about clearing firearm

So I am fairly new to concealed carry, and was just thinking. Right now, I carry without a round chambered(just not 100% comfortable yet). I like to horse play with my 3 yr old, so kinda the big reason for not clambering a round. Anyways... If and when I decide to chamber, and horse play begins, do I just remove pistol from holster, eject mag, and clear chamber, and leave the spring cocked on the gun?

I carry an SR40C, and believe the owners manual states not to dry fire gun without an empty magazine inserted...well I don't carry an empty mag everywhere I go.

So what do you recommend?

I to have an SR40C. The dangers of not carrying a loaded chamber aside, their is an easy fix for this and it takes 5 minutes a 15mm punch and you tube. Remova the mag safety. The SR series pistol mag safety is in the slide, and is pushed out of the way by an inserted magazine. With it in place, when you dry fire the striker is stopped short and slams into the mag safety, potentially damaging both. If you remove it you can safely dry fire the weapon with out in place. I personally will not dry fire with a magazine in the weapon EVER! As far as the horseplay goes, why remove the mag? secure the weapon properly and it shouldnt be a concern.
    NewtownSam likes this.
    ”God grants Liberty only to those who love it, and are always ready to guard and defend it.”
    ~Daniel Webster

Your points are shallow... my points are Hollow....