Compact carry weapon choices?

This is a discussion on Compact carry weapon choices? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'd like to start off by saying I am new to the CC world. I recently received my carry permit and am now looking for ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Compact carry weapon choices?

Compact carry weapon choices?

I'd like to start off by saying I am new to the CC world. I recently received my carry permit and am now looking for a weapon. I am looking for something small enough I will actually carry it and can carry all year round. I am also not looking for a pocket pistol. I haven't decided if I am going to go with 9mm or .40. The 9 is definitely easier to shoot but I like the added power of the 40, even if it is only a little bit. I still have some more shooting to do before I decide between the two. So, I am looking for some advice on some weapons I should try. Below is what I have fired and the size I want to stay around:

Glock 26/27- shot both very well but the 27 definitely is snappy.

M&P 9/40c- also shot well but not as well as the Glock. It did feel more comfortable.

XD 9/40c- my least favorite. Much heavier than the first two. Didn't shoot it well at all.

Ruger SR9c- shot OK but larger than I like

I should add I am looking to stay in the price range of the above. So the H&Ks, Sigs and Kimbers are pretty much out of the question. I know Kahr and Walther also have some options that would fit what I am looking for. So any experience or advice is appreciated. And yes I have looked at the other threads on this forum but didn't see any that really answered my specific questions.

2. Remove Ads

Sig P-250 might be a good option to look into also. I had a chance to shoot my buddy's compact and subcompact and really liked both. That being said, if IL ever passes a CCW law I'm likely getting the G26 or 27. Good luck in your search!