Shooting The SIG P229R Enhanced Elite 9mm...and First Impressions.

This is a discussion on Shooting The SIG P229R Enhanced Elite 9mm...and First Impressions. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; The latest Sig acquisition has come home from layaway purgatory, and after getting it home and giving it a good initial cleaning and lube job...I ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By JT353
  • 1 Post By JT353

Thread: Shooting The SIG P229R Enhanced Elite 9mm...and First Impressions.

The latest Sig acquisition has come home from layaway purgatory, and after getting it home and giving it a good initial cleaning and lube job...I couldn't wait to get out and see how this baby handles. Now I'm not a Sig newbie, but this is the first time I have ever shot a Sig in any configuration, in 9mm, so it wasn't a surprise to me that the accuracy was spot on as well as reliability...but what DID surprise me was how soft shooting this gun was in said caliber. Without having to go into a lot of detail on accuracy, Sig-o-philes know that they are (IMHO) one of the most 'out of the box' accurate pistols on the market and as far as reliable...1. Aim and squeeze trigger 2. BANG! 3. Wash, repeat...without fail.

What I was really curious to mess with, was the SRT (short reset trigger) and see if it made any difference in my follow up shots. So first of all, I just took a shot and held the trigger back and released to reset slowly, before taking the next shot. Before long, after I was able to get a feel for it, I was able to double tap pretty decently and my accuracy wasn't suffering TO terribly bad...so needless to say...I like it!