Steel "J" Frame?

This is a discussion on Steel "J" Frame? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to the revolver scene and am a bit lost here. I'm interested in a J frame sized steel .38. Preferably Ruger or S&W. ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Steel "J" Frame?

Steel "J" Frame?

I'm new to the revolver scene and am a bit lost here. I'm interested in a J frame sized steel .38. Preferably Ruger or S&W. Are there any available and which models are they?

Thanks, John
    NRA MEMBER
    EDC: Beretta Nano

2. Remove Ads

On the S&W web site, under the "J-frame" portion of the "Revolvers" section, look for guns in the ~21-23oz range. Those are them.

Though, I'm sure some of the "framers" will come onboard to tell you about their "steelies." (Can't recall which ones, offhand.)
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

...most likely in the used market:
    ...the M36...blued
    ...the M60...stainless
    (the Model 10 snub's a 6-shot K but about the size/weight of the SP101)
    ...the SP101...blue or stainless
    ...there are more Smiths, like the 649(stainless humpback with shrouded hammer)some nickel Smiths but scarce...
    ....the used ones are more affordable than the new ones around here
    ...also, you might find a Colt Det Spl...6 shot blue or nickel...
    ...those are the three brands I'd be confident with

...steel or stainless(stainless for me because of the weather/sweat)...better balance...easier to shoot well...more pleasant to practice with...

VIP Member
    J-frames are Smith & Wesson, a size designation. There are other 5-shooter's out there, but I'm partial to S&W.