Looking for a smaller carry option

This is a discussion on Looking for a smaller carry option within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm in the market for a new carry weapon, although I'm new to carrying all together. I currently carry a S&W Bodyguard 38 special, and ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Looking for a smaller carry option

I'm in the market for a new carry weapon, although I'm new to carrying all together. I currently carry a S&W Bodyguard 38 special, and while it usually conceals pretty well, I'm looking for a smaller carry option, maybe even a pocket gun as it will be warming up soon and I'm not the biggest person.

I think I have it narrowed down to a few options, but wanted some opinions on how well the following guns perform and conceal. I'm considering the Springfield XDs, Walther PPS, or the Ruger LC9. Caliber doesn't concern me too much, but I prefer 9mm or larger. Just wondering if there are any other good options I might be overlooking.

Also, a big factor for me is the safety features on the weapon. I know a lot of people prefer not to have an external safety, but it's something I'm used to and I like the piece of mind it provides. However I realize the PPS (and many carry weapons) do not have much for external safety features. If there are any other small sized pistols with thumb safeties, I'd be interested to know about them. Just a side note, I'm not a fan of the M&P Shield as the thumb safety is similar to the bodyguard 380's in that it is flush with the body and would be difficult to manipulate in a high stress situation.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Kahr PM9
    baruffic likes this.

If you're open to SA, you gotta give the Sig P938 a look. It's about as concealable, light weight and accurate a 9mm package that you'll find.

VIP Member
    Glock 19.