Newbie: What to Carry?

This is a discussion on Newbie: What to Carry? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Alright DC, I know this forum is probably 90% of this exact question; however, I will bump it up to 91%. As I have recently ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Newbie: What to Carry?

Newbie: What to Carry?

Alright DC,
    I know this forum is probably 90% of this exact question; however, I will bump it up to 91%. As I have recently completed my CCW class, (application submission pending), I have now moved onto the question of what will I carry. I am leaning heavily towards a .357, but have not researched different company's models yet. I feel this is a good caliber to get the job done and not waste shots, should I ever need to take any, but lacking experience with revolvers, I would love some advice. I have had limited experience shooting a 3" (rough estimate) barrel .357, and rather enjoyed it.

Those of you who own compact or snubs, how do you like them? Any major issues I need to be aware of? Other suggestions/opinions?

I have read the "Part 2" thread on what to carry regarding revolvers, and feel a revolver is best for me. I own a Taurus 9mm semi-auto, and love it. It was my first gun, and I have gotten rather good with it at the range, and shot perfect at CCW. All in all, I have been around semi-autos enough to be familiar with their unique behavior and issues.

In the mean time, I will be researching on my own, but just wanted to hear (or read, haha) advice from people who know more than I as well. Thanks in advance!

Steven

2. Remove Ads

Good choice, I have carried snubs for 20 plus years. I personally stay away from scandium or the lightweights. I carry either a SP 101 or my Mod 60 I have a 642 .38 sp for pocket carry but for .357 stay with a steel gun. Heres mine image.jpgimage.jpg
    GhostMaker likes this.

Distinguished Member Array Eric357's Avatar