Beretta Nano: Quick First Impressions

This is a discussion on Beretta Nano: Quick First Impressions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've only recently gotten into handguns and concealed carry, but I wanted to share my thoughts for others considering the Nano. I'm no expert, so ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Beretta Nano: Quick First Impressions

I've only recently gotten into handguns and concealed carry, but I wanted to share my thoughts for others considering the Nano. I'm no expert, so take this for what it's worth.

I've spent the last couple months looking for a new 9mm for EDC. After considering several options, I narrowed my options to the Nano, Shield 9, and Glock 26. Ultimately, I went with the Nano as it is single stack and more easily concealed than the Glock (especially in shorts/t-shirt during summer), and it's actually available in store cases unlike the Shield.

That said, I picked one up today for $380 out the door. After a quick but thorough clean and a few hundred times racking the slide, I was off to the range to start breaking it in and testing for reliability/dependability. I was pressed for time and I don't have a cache of ammo to send down the pipe, so I brought 150 rounds FMJ plus a few 115 gr JHP. I have read several reviews that this gun has failure to extract issues with lighter load 9mm, so I started with 50 rounds of remanufactured brass 124gr FMJ; no issues. Those were followed by 50 rounds of PPU 115 gr FMJ, out of which I had 2 fte. I thought I'd push my luck and see how it would handle 50 rounds of steel cased TulAmmo 115 gr FMJ; I was actually surprised with only 1 fte. I followed these up with two mags of Remington 115 gr JHP; all of which functioned without issue.

A few notes/thoughts: