Defensive Carry banner

Can't shoot two handed

2K views 21 replies 19 participants last post by  Bandit22 
#1 ·
I have had to stop shooting rifles, and I am worried I will have to shoot one handed.

I tore my rotator cuff in my left shoulder, and had the odd metal object cause nerve damage in my left wrist. Holding anything up with my arm for too long causes alot of pain, bending my wrist does as well. I have been told to get over it, and had random guns pushed into my hands. Generally one that I can't get a decent grip on.

Does anyone know of a solution? One hand shooting is the only thing that comes to mind, but I'm worried I couldn't get my license doing that.

Sorry if this has been gone over. I did a search but didn't see anything.

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately I am not a doctor so any advice I have isn't probably worth much. How long ago was your injury? Have you tried physical therapy? If it's been a while and you've exhausted all plausible options I don't think I'd be going out on a limb by saying that people can and do shoot accurately with one hand. It's hard to be of much use over the computer. Maybe there is an experienced, attentive firearms instructor in your area that would be able to help you overcome your limitation. Do what you can do and go slowly. You might surprise yourself in time. Good luck finding a work around.

#4 ·
Can you shoot accurate enough one handed to pass the shooting qualification for your states permit (assuming that AR has one)?

Contact an instructor and ask them if they require anything more than a specific score on the shooting qualification.

#5 ·