Self defense calibers

Self defense calibers

This is a discussion on Self defense calibers within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, I know, and so does everyone that knows me, that I am very opinionated on any subject. Caliber and gun platform is no different. ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree54Likes

Thread: Self defense calibers

Distinguished Member Array oldman45's Avatar

Self defense calibers

Ok, I know, and so does everyone that knows me, that I am very opinionated on any subject. Caliber and gun platform is no different. I feel that .45acp cannot be beat for self defense. I know that a 1911 is as good as it gets from any gun and I was well oriented to that by the US government.

But this is about other calibers and guns. I am an expert in accident and crime scene investigation and reconstruction. I have seen hundreds of gun shot victims, both alive and deceased, over the last 40+ years. I have seen what stops and what does not. I have seen what guns did not do well and what did fine. Today I saw what did not work at all.

A man with a 9mm handgun shot at distances ranging from 7 feet to 13 feet. The person was attempting to and did rob this merchant. There were a total of 5 shots fired in rapid succession. They all hit the upper torso. The man still managed to beat the merchant to a pulp before taking the gun from the man along with the money from the register. He then walked some three blocks before passing out. Yes, he is in the hospital and he will survive. Yes, he is facing some seious charges.

The question is why did the multiple gunshot wounds not even slow the man down. Yes, he was able to kill the merchant but did not even attempt to do so. He only gave him a beat down.

I know 9mm has killed before but seldom. I know NATO calls the 9mm a less than lethal caliber. I also know that I have seen people with as many as 13 rounds over the entire body and still survive.