Shield 9mm or .40?

Shield 9mm or .40?

This is a discussion on Shield 9mm or .40? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Apologies if this has been done to death, but I'm a newbie to pistols. I was browsing the M&P Shield as a companion to my ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Shield 9mm or .40?

Shield 9mm or .40?

Apologies if this has been done to death, but I'm a newbie to pistols.

I was browsing the M&P Shield as a companion to my Barretta 92FS 9mm. I'm not fixated on this particular gun, but just trying to learn more about the different choices.
    The SW site describes that the Shield is available in 9mm and .40 calibers. What is the difference?
    I have plenty of 9mm ammo in my stockpile at this point (for the 92), so that would be more efficient, but I don't know anything about 40 cal.

Any opinions would be welcome.

And I should mention that NJ does not allow carry unless you are in LE, so these are strictly range and HD guns here, if that makes any difference.

First I'd say 9mm. But if you don't plan to carry the gun then why bother getting a subcompact? If you plan to carry it around your home/property go for it. But subcompacts aren't that fun to shoot and in terms of ballistics you will get better results out of bigger guns with longer barrels.
    StormRhydr likes this.
    "Was there no end to the conspiracy of irrational prejudice against Red Ryder and his peacemaker?"

Revolvers, “more elegant weapons for a more civilized age.”