.38 special revolver for self defense

This is a discussion on .38 special revolver for self defense within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I guess I’m looking for affirmation from those with greater experience than me. I have been carrying a concealed weapon for about 2 years now. ...

Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast
Like Tree319Likes

Thread: .38 special revolver for self defense

I guess I’m looking for affirmation from those with greater experience than me. I have been carrying a concealed weapon for about 2 years now. I am by no means a weapons guru. My first CCW was a S&W Bodyguard .380. It was a nice little gun and easy to carry. I became uncomfortable with it because of some of the ill-reports about .380 ammo performance and some problems I had with FTF and FTE. The little laser sight was a pain to engage and breaking down a little semi-auto for cleaning was a pain in the rear. So I traded it off for a Taurus Model 85 snub nose .38. I have read that .38 special is an adequate self defense round and I like that I don’t have malfunctions with a revolver. It is much easier to clean after a practice session. I read so much on these forums about guys carrying nothing less than a 9mm and usually a high capacity 9mm for self defense. Not to mention the .40’s and .45’s some brag are the least caliber to go with. I don’t live in ‘gang’ territory and I’m not going off to war, not today anyway. I live in a small town in Mississippi. My wife and I are near 60 years old and we have both opted for a .38 revolver. I bought her a Ruger LCR. She does not CCW yet but has it available to her in the home and car for ‘just in case’. The question being; have I lulled her and myself into a false sense of security in my choice of .38 revolver for us both? Any thoughts from those with experience would ease my mind and keep me off the web sites wondering if I need a 9mm.
    ArmyCop and GWarden like this.