S&W 60 vs. Ruger SP 101 & etc.

This is a discussion on S&W 60 vs. Ruger SP 101 & etc. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I started shooting late in life, very casually - like bowling pin shoots at a friend's farm using a really old Ruger .22 that my ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: S&W 60 vs. Ruger SP 101 & etc.

Distinguished Member

S&W 60 vs. Ruger SP 101 & etc.

I started shooting late in life, very casually - like bowling pin shoots at a friend's farm using a really old Ruger .22 that my husband "let me use". After passing the state concealed carry course (with the .22) it was time for me to have a gun of my own even though I was far from ready to actually carry one.

My first "gun of my own" was a used (excellent condition) S&W 60. I loved that gun and shot it a lot, for practice and even in competition. Eventually I saw another model which was a 6 shot and had laser built into the grips. So I traded in my 60. Worst mistake of my life! I never could shoot that darned new gun because the grips didn't fit my hands.

Fast forward several years and several guns. I have been carrying a Glock 26 which is a terrific gun except that I have a problem being able to fire several fast shots from the hip using only one hand. That makes it not quite ideal, right?

So, after reading about all of the suggestions for carry guns for small females I told hubby I would like to look and see if I can find another revolver. So we piled in his truck this afternoon and went to all 4 stores in the town closest to us. I tried a bunch.

I couldn't see the front sight on the Ruger, the trigger pull was uncomfortable and the travel was so long that I felt the hammer would NEVER release.