It's rubbing off

This is a discussion on It's rubbing off within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; so I've been carrying concealed for ~8 months now, and after a couple months of weekly range visits with me, my friend Ed wants to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It's rubbing off

It's rubbing off

so I've been carrying concealed for ~8 months now, and after a couple months of weekly range visits with me, my friend Ed wants to purchase a carry pistol. He's very familiar with my Walther P22 and SW99 (.40), and is an excellent shot with both of them. He's looking for advice on a carry gun of his own.

I have no problem concealing my full size SW99 in an OWB holster; I'm a big guy (6'1", 220lbs). But Ed is about 5'10" and 120lbs (his nickname is stick boy ), so it may be a good idea for him to find a smaller gun. I've recommended 9mm for caliber, as it's a decent defense round that's pretty cheap to buy in bulk for practice. Though .40 isn't out of the question, it is pricier for the ammo (ask how I know ).

I was originally thinking Glock 19. But I'm open to other suggestions. He definitely wants an auto (no wheelguns sadly), and is biased toward polymer frame. He likes the idea of a Glock of some type, but he also likes my SW99. He's looking to keep the price at ~$600 or less, so we're going to take a look at the used guns at out local gunshop within the next week or two to see what we can find. Elsewise I'm afraid we might be pushing his budget for a quality polymer pistol brand new.

What are your thoughts?
    Discretion is the better part of valour; and a virtue beyond reproach.
    Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    With a $600 budget and looking for used, the market is wide open to you. I do like Glock but know there are many equals or better out there. With a $600 budget you fairly have a wide range of new also.